All schools in England have a governing body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a 'critical friend': to support, challenge, ask questions and represent the school community. Our Governing Body is made up of a range of people from a range of different backgrounds including: parents, staff members, local councillors and community representatives. The standard term of office for a governor is 4 years. The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected every year.


Currently the Governing Body has the following members:-

Parent Governors

Sarah Bradley - appointed 28/02/20, ends 27/02/24

Julie Hardwick - appointed 28/02/20, ends 27/02/24

Jo Whitlow - appointed 01/07/22, ends 30/06/26

Mary Farmer - appointed 01/07/22, ends 30/06/26


Staff Governors

Mrs Angela Sheppard (Acting Executive Headteacher)

Mr Kyle Evans (Teaching Assistant, Resource Base) - appointed 10/11/21, ends 09/11/25


Local Authority Governors

Cllr Mark Dennett - appointed 09/07/18, ends 08/07/22


Community Governors

John Organ - appointed 14/07/15, ends 07/07/23
Libby Evans - appointed 08/07/19, ends 01/07/27
Dave Watson - appointed 14/07/15, ends 07/07/23
Barry Moorefield - appointed 14/07/15, ends 07/07/23
Syd Broxton - appointed 14/07/15, ends 07/07/23


Associate Governors

Karen Hey - appointed 14/03/22, ends 13/03/26




Dave Watson ( Chair)- Finance govenor, Health and Safety, Special Educational Needs, training and recruitment, child protection/safeguarding, safer recruitment

Barry Moorfield (Vice Chair) -Foundation subjects/Children and young people in care

Mark Dennett - ICT, Mathematics

Karen Hey - Literacy

John Organ - Foundation subjects/educational visits

Kyle Evans - Core Curriculum

Libby Evans - Sex and relationship education/disabilty

Syd Broxton - Disabilty​


All the Governors have formally declared that they have no pecuniary or relationship interests that are relevant to their position as governors of Weston Point Community Primary School. This information is collated at the start of each committee or full governing body meeting.

Files to Download

Weston pointCommunity Primary School

We are a school that likes to celebrate successat every level.

Weston pointCommunity Primary School

Castner Avenue, Runcorn, Cheshire, WA7 4EQ

Emma Hetherington | Office Manager

01928 574 593

Contact UsWe would love to hear from you!

Mrs A Sheppard | Acting Executive Headteacher

Mrs G Snell | Acting Executive Deputy Headteacher

Miss N Abel | SENCO / Teaching and Learning Lead